Bronxville Athletes Honored at 2019 Spring Sports Awards Evening Print


By S. Quinn DeJoy and J. Murrer

Jul. 3, 2019:  At the spring sports awards evening held in June, Bronxville varsity athletes were recognized for their many accomplishments. The Broncos were recognized with 21 All-Section and 67 All-League awards, and many of the athletes were given special coaches awards. Junior lacrosse player Hanna Bishop was named All-American, and teammates seniors Fiona Jones and Isabel Sondey were awarded Academic All-American honors. Freshman Molly Stoltz had an impressive squash season and is currently ranked No.2 in the U.S. in the Girls Under 17 division.

Each spring, two seniors are selected to receive awards for their athletic performance, sportsmanship, and leadership throughout the year. Caroline Brashear, who played field hockey and ran indoor and outdoor track, received the Virginia Landis award, and Matt Rizzo, who ran cross country and indoor and outdoor track, was honored with the Lou Brinsmade Award. Brashear and Rizzo will both continue to run in college at Yale and Stanford, respectively.

For a complete list of award winners, see below.



Baseball Senior Day: David Weild, Zip Malley, Peter Dolan, and Jack Palermo. Photo by Steve Malley.

Head Coach: Anthony Vaglica

League Player of the Year: Zip Malley

All-Section: Zip Malley

All-Section Honorable Mention: Owen Jaquette

All-League: Z. Malley, O. Jaquette, Spencer Dessart, Ethan Jaquette

Co-MVPs: Zip Malley and Owen Jaquette

Game Changer Award: Spencer Dessart
Dan O’Neil Award: Michael Grieco

Boys' Golf  

Head Coach: Chris Lockwood 

All-Section: Will Tormey

All-League: Jay Coyne, J.P. Swenson, Willy Swenson, Robbie Cruikshank, W. Tormey, Conner Stoltz, Charlie Preusse

MVP: Will Tormey

Most Improved: R. Cruikshank

Rookie of the Year: J. Coyne

Girls' Golf 

Coach: Dan Martin

All-Section: Molly Stoltz

All-League: McKenna Stoltz, Theresa Wang, Molly Stoltz

MVP: Molly Stoltz

Most Improved: Theresa Wang

Boys' Lacrosse

Head Coach: Rob Ambrose

All-Section: Nate Davis

All-Section Honorable Mention: Grey Warble

All-League: N. Davis, Henry Sheehan, Henry Donohue, G. Warble, Tim Murray, P.J. Krestinski, Dylan Alberghine

All-League Honorable Mention: Logan Glick, Luke Doukas, Colin Dempsey

MVP, Offense: N. Davis

MVP, Defense: D. Alberghine

Bronco Award: T. Murray

Girls' Lacrosse

Head Coach: Sharon Robinson

All-American: Hanna Bishop

Academic All-American: Fiona Jones, Isabel Sondey

Golden Dozen: Anneke Pulkkinen

All-Section: H. Bishop, F. Jones, I. Sondey, Caroline Ircha

All-Section Honorable Mention: A. Pulkkinen, Caroline McGrath, Katie Formato

All-League: I. Sondey, F. Jones, A. Pulkkinen, H. Bishop, Alex Doukas, C. Ircha, Kiki Tormey, Betsy Marshall, Cassidy Mullen, K. Formato, C. McGrath, Caitlin Mooney

Section 1 Sportsmanship Award: C. Mooney

New York State Tournament Sportsmanship Award: C. Mooney

NYS Tournament Team: F. Jones, A. Pulkkinen, C. Ircha

Rookie of the Year: C. Ircha

Four-Year Outstanding Achievement Award: I. Sondey, F. Jones

Two-Year Outstanding Achievement Award: A. Pulkkinen



Tennis co-captain Michael Swartz in match against Blind Brook. Photo by J. Murrer.

Head Coach: Chris Doyl

All-Section: Liam Krall

All-League: L. Krall, Charlie Nordahl, Michael Swartz

Rookie of the Year: Harrison Brown

MVP: M. Swartz

Boys' Track and Field


Coach Ian Clark with seniors from the track team (L-R): Seamus Watters, Tommy O'Connell, Alex Rizzo, and Matt Rizzo. Photo by Charlotte Rizzo.

Head Coach: Ian Clark

All-State:  Alex Rizzo, Matt Rizzo, Jack Kochansky, Tim McGrath

All-Section: A. Rizzo, M. Rizzo, Seamus Watters

All-League: A. Rizzo, M. Rizzo, J. Kochansky, T. McGrath, S. Watters, Will Redman, Trent Dillon, Tommy O'Connell, Chris Kelty, Dylan Ruddy, Cory Ramando 

All-League Honorable Mention: Nathan Revadigar, Eric Fleisig 

Sprint MVP:  T. O’Connell

Distance MVPs: A. Rizzo and M. Rizzo

Arthur Lynch Award: S. Watters

Girls' Track and Field


Members of the girls' track team hold Class C Championship trophy (L-R): Maeve Sullivan, Ava Downs, Caroline Brashear, Alisa Kanganis, Eve Balseiro, and Clio Dakolias. Photo by David Ryan.

Head Coach: David Ryan, Keina Samuels

Assistant Coach: Jim Mitchell

All-State: Natalie Weiner, Maeve Sullivan, Milly Koenig, Caroline Brashear, Alisa Kanganis, Clio Dakolias, Eve Balseiro, Sabrina Mellinghoff, Jules Gravier

All-Section: E. Balseiro, C. Brashear, N. Weiner, M. Sullivan, M. Koenig, A. Kanganis, C. Dakolias, S. Mellinghoff

All-County: N. Weiner, M. Sullivan, M. Koenig, C. Brashear, A. Kanganis, C. Dakolias, E. Balseiro, S. Mellinghoff, J. Gravier, A. Downs

All-League: N. Weiner, M. Sullivan, M. Koenig, C. Brashear, A. Kanganis, C. Dakolias, E. Balseiro, J. Gravier, A. Downs, Avery Widen, Ella Stupart, Andrea Shephard, Molly Palma, Emma Mandanas, Isabella Dibbini, Marielle Dibbini, Gigi Chrappa, Ava Black

All-League Honorable Mention: Kelly Weild, Donna Napolitano

MVPs: E. Balseiro, C. Dakolias, N. Weiner

Richard Murphy Award: I. Dibbini

Jim Mitchell Award: C. Brashear

Tuckahoe/Bronxville Softball

Coach: Michael McGovern

All-Section: Maggie O’Hare

All-League: M. O’Hare, Katie O’Hare

Photo at top by J. Murrer