Bronco Athletes Honored at 2019 Winter Sports Awards Ceremony Print


By S. Quinn DeJoy and J. Murrer

Mar. 13, 2019:  At the annual winter sports awards evening held on February 26 in the high school auditorium, Athletic Council co-presidents Rachael Peacock and Gigi Chrappa introduced the winter sports teams. Bronxville athletes received multiple awards, including all-American, all-state, all-county, and all-league recognition.

It was an historic winter for the boys’ and girls’ indoor track and field teams. This year’s Broncos broke a total of fourteen school records during the indoor season.

For the girls, Eve Balseiro set three school records in the 300m, 400m, and 600m, and Sabrina Mellinghoff and Caroline Ircha set records in the 55m and 200m, respectively. The Rizzo brothers broke records in the 1000m and mile (Matt) and the 600m and 1600m (Alex), and Seamus Watters set a new record in the 55m high hurdles.

Four Bronxville relays broke previous school records. The girls’ 4x400m relay (Balseiro, Mellinghoff, Betsy Marshall, and Caroline Brashear) and the 4x200m relay (Ircha, Mellinghoff, Alisa Kanganis, and Balseiro) both set all-time Bronxville records. The boys’ SMR (M. Rizzo, A. Rizzo, Watters, and Tommy O’Connell) and the DMR (A. Rizzo, M. Rizzo, O’Connell, and Jack Kochansky) set all-time records.

For a complete list of award winners, see below.

Eve Balseiro, who broke multiple school records in track, receives a hug from Coach Keina Samuels.

Girls' Indoor Track and Field

Coach: David Ryan
Assistant Coaches: Jim Mitchell, Keina Samuels

Captains: Andrea Shephard, Isabelle Dibbini, Sabrina Mellinghoff

All-League: Eve Balseiro, Ava Black, Gigi Chrappa, Clio Dakolias, Marielle Dibbini, I. Dibbini, Ava Downs, Jules Gravier, Patty Haggerty, Caroline Ircha, Alisa Kanganis, Milly Koenig, Emma Mandanas, Betsy Marshall, S. Mellinghoff, A. Shephard, Maeve Sullivan, Kelly Weild, Natalie Weiner, Avery Widen

All-League Honorable Mention: Molly Palma, Julia Widen

All-County: S. Mellinghoff, E. Balseiro, C. Ircha, C. Brashear, J. Gravier, M.Koenig, A. Kanganis, B. Marshall, N. Weiner, C. Dakolias, M. Sullivan

MVPs: Caroline Brashear, Eve Balseiro, Sabrina Mellinghoff, Caroline Ircha

Seniors: Abbott Lyric, Caroline Brashear, Clio Dakolias, Isabelle Dibbini, Patty Haggerty, Emma Mandanas, Andrea Shephard, Sophia Sulimirski, and Natalie Weiner.

Alex and Matt Rizzo accepting awards from Coach Ian Clark.

Boys' Indoor Track and Field
Coach: Ian Clark
Assistant Coach: Victor Palumbo

Captains: Tim Murray, Nathan Revadigar, Alex Rizzo

All-American: Matt Rizzo, Alex Rizzo, Seamus Watters, Tommy O’Connell, Jack Kochansky

State Champions: M. Rizzo, A. Rizzo

All-League: J. Kochansky, Zip Malley, T. O’Connell, Connor Randall, M. Rizzo, A. Rizzo, Seamus Watters

All-County and All-Section: M. Rizzo, A. Rizzo, S. Watters

MVP, sprint: S. Watters

MVP, distance: M. Rizzo, A. Rizzo

Seniors: Jay Burstein, Jack Kochansky, Kevin Leka, Tommy O’Connell, Luke Redman, Nathan Revadigar, Matt Rizzo, Alex Rizzo, Seamus Watters, and Emmanuel Yimer

Boys' Swimming and Diving – New Rochelle/ Bronxville

Swim Coach: Kip Fiero
Assistant Coach: Michael Panzarino

All-League: T. Cushman

MVP: T. Cushman

Rookie of the Year: Theodore Veru

Coaches’ Award: Finn Seibold

Senior Captain: Tim Cushman


Varsity Squash

Coach: Supreet Singh
Captains: Conner Stoltz, Julia Curran, McKenna Stoltz

Most Improved: Conner Stoltz

MVP: Molly Stoltz

Senior Awards: J. Curran, M. Stoltz

Basketball captains Corey Ramundo (L) and Tim McGrath.

Boys' Basketball 

Coach: Bobby Russo
Assistant Coach: Ralph Russo
Captains: Tim McGrath, Corey Ramundo, Ashton Smith

All-League: T. McGrath

MVP: T. McGrath

Hustle Award: Ashton Smith

Bronco Award: Corey Ramundo

Seniors: Tim McGrath, Ashton Smith, and Corey Ramundo

Members of the girls’ basketball team accepting awards. 

Girls' Basketball
Coach: Donald Lucas
Assistant Coach: Michaela Donohue
Captains: Jenny Pettee, Denise Kinas, Samantha Huss

All-League: Stella Daskalakis, Ashley Wetty

All-League, Honorable Mention: Denise Kinas, Hanna Bishop

Coaches’ Awards: Denise Kinas, Samantha Huss, Jenny Pettee

Seniors: Denise Kinas, Samantha Huss, and Jenny Pettee


Ice Hockey (Eastchester, Tuckahoe, Bronxville, Edgemont )
Coach: Steve Forzaglia
Assistant Coach: Rob Striar

All-League, Honorable Mention: Trent Dillon

Coaches' Award: T. Dillon

Senior Captain: Trent Dillon 


Varsity Skiing
Coaches: Jim Agnello, Peggy Williams
Captains: Mary Moynihan, Caroline Spitz

All-League: Bailey Gilliam, Piper Gilliam, Bridget Sands, Philip Meyers

Most Valuable Skier: B. Gilliam

Most Improved: B. Sands, P. Meyers

Bronco Spirit Award: Cole Zucker

Seniors:  Hanna Beldotti, Sarah Conneally, Lindsey Cruikshank, Peter Dolan, Barrett Dollar, Damian Kaminski, Margaret Knight, Mary Moynihan, Mike Murray, Kunzang Namgyal, Alex Knew, Ellie Parson, Jack Parzick, Charlie Preusse, Caroline Spitz, and David Weild.

Pictured at top (rotating): Tim Cushman, team captain and most valuable swimmer; Eve Balseiro, who broke multiple school records in track, receives a hug from Coach Keina Samuels. 

Photos by J. Murrer